RSS

Intermezzo

19 Jun
intermezzo

SPOILER ALERT

I was excited to watch Intermezzo (1939) because of Leslie Howard. He is a favorite of mine. Well, I ended up being skeptical of the plot. The basic premise is a violinist falls in love with his daughter’s piano teacher, played by Ingrid Bergman. Did I mention he was married? Eww, we’re off on the wrong foot already, especially when you discover his wife is not a treacherous villian deserving of being kicked to the curb.

Well, I was fully prepared to chalk this one up to the “dislike” pile. Then, reality returns to her throne. (Wodehouse) Real life demonstrates what they undoubtedly should have pondered from the start. I love this revelation…”I wonder if anyone has ever built happiness on the UNhappiness of others.” Indeed not. I like this movie after all.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 19, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
