RSS

High Treason…a Grand Confession

23 Feb

I will go ahead & plead guilty. I know charges of treachery will be filed by the movie buff hierarchy if they read what I am about to reveal. There are movies that I know I should love. I have been told all my life of these larger than life flicks. Movies that establish a genre, define a generation, withstand the test of time, are perhaps even life changing (smirk). They inspire, were cutting edge, & have the esteem & respect of movier goers far & wide. Some are simple stories that people love. I anticipate watching these movies with eager & unabashed awe. But…when the credits roll, I’m left babbling “Do what?” I’m ashamed because I know these films should be highly appreciated. Admittedly, I have watched lesser films and enjoyed them. So, what gives? I don’t know. I can only tell you, (deep inhale) I do not like these movies. (Both hands over my head) I surrender peacefully.

sleepless

 

 

 

 

Sleepless in Seattle  Let’s start with the no-brainer. This is a simple movie that romantics love. I watched it for the first time last month. Yawn. I did like Tom Hank’s Cary Grant impersonation.

okie

 

 

 

 

Oklahoma!  Considering I am from Oklahoma, I may hear a knock at my door shortly. Come on, this movie makes me very ill at ease. Jud Fry…eebie jeebies. This is a creepy story lurking behind the surrey with the fringe on top, but not exciting creepy…just creepy creepy.

casablanca

 

 

 

 

Casablanca  I can hear the gasps. I can’t help it. This is one I really wanted to love. I need to watch it again. Maybe I was having a bad day.

north

 

 

 

 

North by Northwest I can normally recommend a movie simply because of Cary Grant’s presence. Not so in this case.

west-side

 

 

 

 

West Side Story   I usually enjoy musicals. This is another one that I may need to watch again.

breakfast

 

 

 

 

Breakfast at Tiffany’s   Holly Golightly…Holly Getagrip.

doctor-z

 

 

 

 

Doctor Zhivago   Gak, I’m gonna cough up a hairball.

citizen

 

 

 

 

Citizen Kane   No, I didn’t get it. I do like Joseph Cotten though.

bell

 

 

 

 

For Whom the Bell Tolls   (Shrug) I liked the title.

fair

 

 

 

My Fair Lady   Awesome costumes! I even liked Pygmalion. I’m not sure exactly why this version didn’t appeal to me…maybe it was all that screechy talking coming from Audrey Hepburn. And she’s a favorite of mine, go figure.

gone

 

 

 

 

Gone with the Wind I still get a bad taste in my mouth when I think about this movie. Yuck. Scarlett O’Hara is one of the most despicable characters of all time. She is the most self-centered, uncaring person ever written into existence. Someone told me that her independence is what made her so endearing. Gak, she is a stubborn, morally immature person unwilling to yield to anything but her own wants & needs. She maliciously & willfully betrays anyone that gets in her way & is left sticking her chin in the air even at the death of her own child. She would do anything to get what she wants & not a second thought is given to the consequences or harm to others. I think I’m gonna spit. I know, I know…Frankly, my dear…

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 23, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “High Treason…a Grand Confession

  1. Lindsay Hayes

    February 24, 2009 at 8:13 AM

    Amen sister!!! All those movies are HORRIBLE! lol

     
  2. Dawn

    February 24, 2009 at 9:04 AM

    Hey, girl, yeah! Somewhere to go that has “been there, done that” for me. I’ll be back to visit 🙂
    (and I’ll bring the toast 🙂

     
  3. litabuff

    February 24, 2009 at 12:09 PM

    Lindsay…glad to see you here!

    Dawn! Ok. Orphans! Listen to Ignacio. I know it is fun to wrestle. A nice piledrive to the face… or a punch to the face… but you cannot do it. Because, it is in the Bible not to wrestle your neighbor.

     
  4. Jonathan

    March 7, 2009 at 9:41 AM

    Okay…I pretty much agree with your list although I have never seen “Gone With The Wind”. For some reason I wanted to buck movie-viewing compliance on GWTW. I also have never watched “Titanic” for the same reason and the cinematic gods haven’t punished me…yet. While watching your listed movies, and some others, I kept thinking that I must be missing something because I’m not feelin’ it…maybe it was me. In some cases I have watched a second time and it’s not me. I’m glad you reaffirm that I’m not alone.

     
  5. litabuff

    March 7, 2009 at 1:50 PM

    Jonathan, you are not alone!

    Although, it feels a bit wrong when I say “Nacho Libre” is one of my favorite flicks, but to hold “Gone With the Wind” with such disdain.

     

Leave a comment